News & Events

Event Calendar

In-Service: Foundation for LGBTQ+ Inclusion

Tuesday, September 8, 2020
3:00 pm4:15 pm
Webinar
 In-Service: Foundation for LGBTQ+ Inclusion

Foundation for LGBTQ Inclusion (Part 1)

Date: Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Time: 12-1:15 PM PT/1-2:15 PM MT/2-3:15 PM CT/3-4:15 PM ET
Number of in-service training credit hours: 1.25
Presenter: Alison Delpercio, Human Rights Campaign

Learning Objectives:
Explore how and why LGBTQ inclusion matters to the work of CASA/GAL:
• Improve participants’ knowledge of and comfort with appropriate terminology re: LGBTQ and sexual orientation, gender identity and expression (SOGIE) issues.
• Explore accurate information about the diversity of LGBTQ youth and adult identities and experiences.
• Identify language and behaviors that create a welcoming environment for LGBTQ youth and adults
• Identify concrete next steps for being an “active ally” to the LGBTQ community.